Respect dare series – day 6 – Give

Act 20:35

In all things I have shown you that by working hard in this way we must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.'”

Jesus said it. We must believe it. “It is more blessed to give than to receive”. Today, God wasn’t speaking to me about material giving; He was talking about giving of myself, and love languages.

Gary Chapman came up with five primary love languages. I recommend you check it out if you don’t know about them:

Glenn’s main language is very different to mine. I’m words and touch, where he is strongly acts of service. We’ve had to learn to give the other love in the way they receive it. For example, Glenn constantly serves me all day and, whilst I appreciate it, I don’t feel loved by it. He has had to learn to speak encouraging words to me and give me praise. I, on the other hand, constantly affirm him through words, but I can see through his expression they mean nothing to his heart. I have to serve him if he is going to feel loved.

Coming back to Christ’s words, today I felt challenged to give without expectation of reciprocity. I wanted to serve him in little ways throughout the day.

I highly recommend that you and your spouse complete the love languages quiz and talk through your results together. Talk about what they do to make you feel loved – affirm your spouse in what they already do and give practical examples. Ask how you can better love them through their love language.

My action for today: First, I retook the quiz despite having done it before. I was interested to see my lower three have changed in positioning with acts of service moving up – I wonder if that is because I’m learning to feel loved by Glenn’s service? I also had Glenn do the quiz.

Second, I tried to serve Glenn intentionally through the day. I think his highlight was probably the back massage at the end of a stressful, busy, and tiring day.

My prayer for today: Lord, remind me that Glenn and I feel loved differently. Help me to give in the way he feels loved, without expecting back. Keep me a willing servant. Help me to grow in my understanding of how to serve Glenn in meaningful and practical ways. In Jesus’ precious name, Amen.

5 Love Languages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s